Cake for breakfast (Sara)

We are going to visit our friends in South Germany in the summer holidays and I want to share with you my absolute favorite moment whenever we visit them:

I wake up in the morning to the chirping of birds and I can hear the lovely mother, Maria, rummaging around in the kitchen downstairs making breakfast. I sneak into the bathroom, trying not to make any noise because everybody else is still sleeping. When I come down the stairs, I sit down at the kitchen table and Maria has a hot cup of tea and a piece of her freshly-baked cake ready for me. (Maria and her family eat homemade cake for breakfast, yummy!) By the time that I finish sipping on my hot tea and eat the last crumbs of the delicious cake, everybody else will have smelled the mouthwatering scent of tea and cake . They come down the stairs and sit down, read the newspaper, have breakfast and talk about what we are going to do that day. These are moments of total peace and happiness to me.

Looking forward to seeing you guys!

2 Comments »

  1. lilalia said

    My favourite moments happens when we get seated in the ICE train (Hamburg-Nurenberg). You and Julien pull our your books and I sip on the tea I’ve brought on board and just look out the window seeing the Hamburg Harbour pass by. It is that moment when I can relax completely and just slide into the now of being on our way to visit dear friends.

  2. Lisbeth said

    It’s nice that this situation is so special for you because you describing it made me realize that it’s not that usual at all- like I always thought!
    So thanks 😉
    I’m really looking forward to seeing you guys 🙂

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

